April: A Bookish Reflection

April was a busy month with me. It started off with a few days off work but as soon as I was back to work everything exploded and my free time was minimal. That said, I still managed to get through 7 books this month. Here’s a quick reflection.

Number of Books read: 7

Number of Pages read: 2,422

Shtum  Nimona  Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)  The Diary of a Young Girl

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2)  How To Be A Woman  Bossypants

My Top Reads

My absolute favourite reads of the month were Cinder and Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. I have absolutely no idea why it took me so long to finally start this series but I am already so in love with it! I absolutely adored the first two books and I can’t wait to pick up the next (I already bought the whole series!). I love, love, love the characters. Cinder and Iko are my favourite so far, but there aren’t really any characters I don’t like. I’ve also enjoyed the interesting and clever way the original fairytales have been incorporated into the series. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

I also thoroughly enjoyed reading Shtum by Jem Lester. This book is a fantastic read; although, I would recommend you get the tissues ready first. This book made me both laugh and cry, but most of all I was thankful. Thankful that someone took the time to right such a poignant, truthful and painful account of what it is like to live as a family with an autistic child. You can check out my full review here.

Looking Ahead…

I’ve just cleansed by tbr a little bit. There are still a ridiculous number of books on it but I did manage to remove a few to make up for the amount I’ve added this month. I’ve just got my hands on an arc of The Night Stalker and I plan on starting to read that tonight.


How was your month? Did you read any of the same books as me? Do you have any recommendation?


Feel free to follow me on Twitter or Goodreads. Comments are always warmly welcome. 

6 responses to “April: A Bookish Reflection

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #16 | Kelly's Rambles·

  2. Seven books is a great amount! I’m glad you liked Cinder and Scarlet so much! I need to buy Cress so that I can read it as I am now totally invested in the series! Nimona is actually on my TBR, so I’m hoping that it turns out alright.
    My month was okay, could of been better but Stress has been my mortal enemy for the entire month!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

