When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple Met RishiWhen Dimple Met Rishi

Author: Sandhya Menon

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Publisher: Hodder

UK Publication Date: June 1st 2017

Format: eARC (384 pages)

Goodreads:       Author        Book


Synopsis:

The arranged-marriage YA romcom you didn’t know you wanted or needed…

Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi.

He’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans…

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn’t be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?


My Rating: ★★★★★

When Dimple Met Rishi has been high on my list of upcoming titles for a while now and I LOVED IT SO MUCH. From the first few pages I was just completely in love with the characters and desperately rooting for them to do well. This book is full of cultural representation, fluffy romance and completely geekiness which I absolutely adored!

I learnt a lot from this book about Dimple and Rishi’s culture and I thank Sandhya Menon so much for that. I loved seeing such a positive portrayal of arranged marriage because I think it will help to break the stereotypes that can sometimes spring to mind when arranged marriage is spoken of. There is very much a focus on developing a wonderful companionship and mutual love and respect and I love that it wasn’t forced here. Although it is what their parents want, they are also very accepting of not getting their desired outcome. I just thought it was all written beautifully. I also loved how bilingualism was represented with the characters regularly speaking Hindi as well as English. This felt very natural and it was wonderful to see it being acknowledged in the book. When Dimple Met Rishi is authentic in a way only an #OwnVoices book can be.

Dimple Shah is easily one of my new favourite fictional ladies. She was so independent, hilarious and sassy and I just loved how focused she was. She is a perfect example of how it is okay to be a girl and be ambitious and want to put yourself out there in a world that is male-dominated. I was completely behind Dimple all the way and I loved how passionate she was. Rishi was like an adorable little puppy and I just wanted to take him under my wing a bit. He was SO fluffy and wonderful and passionate and caring and I just loved him. I don’t think I need to state at this point that Dimple and Rishi are my newest OTP but …. they are!!

Although I am usually not a big fan of instalove in books (and I had expected more of a slowburn here) I did still fall head over heels in love with the romance in this book. It just felt right in every sense and was very well written. When Dimple Met Rishi is fluffy, romantic, hilarious and touching in every way possible. When’s the wedding?

A big thank you to Netgalley, Hodder and Sandhya Menon for my advance copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.


lets-talk

Are you planning on reading When Dimple Met Rishi? 

Have you already read it? What did you think?


name


Follow me on Twitter, Instagram, Bloglovin’ or Goodreads. Comments are always warmly welcome.

Advertisements

6 responses to “When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

  1. So happy you enjoyed When Dimple Met Rishi. It’s definitely not the sort of book that I would typically read but I’m so glad that I ultimately did. It’s such a delightfully charming read. Although at times I felt it was a little too overdone with all the clichés, I nonetheless enjoyed reading about these two coming of age Indians from traditional families who, in the end, fall in love… ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sunday Summary 04.06.2017 | Kelly's Rambles·

  3. Pingback: May 2017: A Bookish Reflection | Kelly's Rambles·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s