Weekly Wrap-Up #31

Books of the Week

Carry On  Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle, #1)

I finally finished reading Carry On by Rainbow Rowell but unfortunately for me it just didn’t live up to my expectations. My review will be posted here later in the week but you can check it out on Goodreads if you’re curious! I’ve not read a lot this week as I’ve been a little poorly and watching a lot of the Olympics but I made a dent into Nevernight by Jay Kristoff yesterday. This looks like it’s going to be a badass, bloody an addictive read!


Films of the Week

Letters to Juliet Poster

Just one movie this week and my choice was Letters to Juliet starring Amanda Seyfried and Vanessa Redgrave. I chose this to watch whilst I was in bed and unable to sleep because of pain. It kept popping up on lists on Netflix and it’s been a while since I watched a cheesy romantic film and this hit the spot quite nicely!

Films watched in 2016: 44/100

TV of the Week

So my week consisted of the following TV shows:

Pretty Little Liars Poster  Suits Poster

I’ve made some pretty big bounds in my Gilmore Girls watch having just finished Season 4 today. I absolutely LOVE Lorelai Gilmore. I am about 98% sure she is the same person as me, the difference being that I don’t yet have children. Pretty Little Liars is getting a little more tense this week and Suits is as great as ever!

I’ve watched a lot of the Olympics this week and I’ve been really enjoying it. There’s just something about seeing the UK flag being raised and that anthem playing that really gets me right in my heart. Team GB are doing really well already!

Blogposts of the Fortnight

 

Finally…

I spent most of the week sick after finding out that the doctor I saw last week was in fact wrong and I did have an infection. I ended up on two types of antibiotics and I’ve been a bit out of it all week so it’s not been the most productive week of my summer. In other splendid news, my best friend in the whole world gave birth to a beautiful baby girl on Thursday morning and I could not be more delighted for her. I can’t wait to meet the little one. I’ve bought some gifts and am also making a ‘New Mum’ hamper for my friend so she can pamper herself.

On Wednesday evening I went to see Chitty Chitty Bang Bang in the theatre with my family and it was fantastic!! I love going to see shows in the theatre. Next week we are going to London and I’ll be seeing Charlie and the Chocolate Factory which I think will be amazing!

Hope you have a great week everyone!

Do you have any opinions on the above books? Or maybe you’ve seen one of the same movies as me or are a fan of the TV shows I watch? Get in touch! 


Feel free to follow me on Twitter, Instagram or Goodreads. Comments are always warmly welcome.

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up #31

  1. Glad to hear a doctor found how to treat you! 🙂
    I caught up with Suits yesterday but I was a bit disappointed. Before the end of the season, Harvey will be representing everyone in the prison! Also, what happened to doing borderline things but no truly illegal moves? Colluding is definitely not a good idea!

    Like

  2. I’m sorry Carry On fell short for you. I felt “meh” about Fangirl, but I know people adore it. I think people love her books so much because her characters are so relatable, but I think her plot lines are just so-so.

    I’m very curious about Nevernight. It seems like either people hate it or love it…

    Gilmore Girls is my favorite TV series ever made! I can’t wait to re-watch the series with my daughter when she is older ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • It just wasn’t for me. Maybe I needed to be a younger reader to enjoy it more, sometimes that happens with books. I did love Eleanor & Park though!
      I’m hoping to finish Nevernight over the next couple of days so I’ll get a review up as soon as possible. I’ve seen lots of people giving 5*’s but also a lot of 1*’s. It takes a little while to get used to the layout of the book (it has footnotes) and the writing style is quite extravagant!
      Ah, I’m in love with Gilmore Girls right now. So glad I chose to watch it!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment